Deele College bested by St. Brendan’s College 2-1


Deele College’s unbelievable run in the Bank of Ireland Minor Boys’ National cup is over after a fiercely contested final on Tuesday, played at the Home Farm FC ground in Whitehall, Co. Dublin.

Deele who were contesting their first ever All Ireland Football Final put in a valiant display against a strong St. Brendan’s side who have now won the trophy twice in the past three years (By Rory Brogan)

It was Deele who started the match the strongest when on the 15th minute mark, centre back CJ Clarke rose highest among the crowd to head a perfectly weighted ball into the box from a corner delivered by Ronan McKinley. However the lead was short lived as St. Brendan’s pushed men forward for a corner on the 30th minute mark and defender Ryan O’Grady was able to convert a shot from just inside the 18 yard box.

As the second half begun it was evident that the next goal would be a vital one and it was the more experienced St. Brendan’s who were able to grab it when a fantastic free kick delivered by Emmet O’Shea was dropped in just below the crossbar and rose above the Deele ‘keeper David Arthur. Both teams then looked as if they could have grabbed another goal or two but the Kerry men were able to hold out for the rest of the match despite the late pressure applied by the Deele boys, Deele were not able to produce some of the spectacular comebacks that we had seen them produce in previous fixtures throughout the competition.

Sadly it was not Deele’s day but they certainly did not let down the some two hundred supporters who travelled down from Donegal. We are all sure that the boys will be back again in the years to come.

Deele College: David Arthur, Corey Brolly, Aaron O’Donnell, CJ Clarke, Gavin McGee, Anton Murtagh, Corey McBride Gillen, Robbie Donnell, Zach Tinney, Ronan McKinley, Oisin Bonner (Subs) Jack McAuley, Kyron Coyle, Shane Coyle, Dean Quigley, Pearce Lindsey

St. Brendan’s College: Eoin Moynihan, Tom Doyle, Ryan O’Grady, Neil O’Shea, Emmet Finnan, Evan Looney, Cian O’Leary , Niall McGillicuddy, Emmet O’Shea, Dylan Callahan, Eoghan O’Sullivan (Subs) Ruairi Doyle, Owen Benson, Conor Henderson, William Shine, Craig Boyle